Welcome to The Collie Association
The Rough Collie shares its origins with the Smooth Collie in the working sheepdogs of Scotland. The earliest Collies were smaller than today's dogs and largely black/white, tricolour or black/tan. The first sable, Old Lockie, born in 1868, caused a sensation and from that time sable/white became the most popular colour. However, the tricolour and blue merle are still very much evident in the breed.
It was not until 1870 that there were separate classes for “Sheepdogs Rough” and “Sheepdogs Smooth”. The founder of the Kennel Club, Mr S. E. Shirley, promoted the Rough Collie and Queen Victoria brought some from Balmoral to her Royal Estates, including Windsor Castle.
The Collie Association is a nationwide Breed Club dedicated to the promotion of the Rough Collie, with Committee members, Officers or Representatives throughout the United Kingdom.
- Promoting the breeding and exhibition of pedigree Rough Collies.
- Giving help and encouragement to novice and hobby breeders.
- Doing all possible to further the progress and health of the breed as a whole.
Latest Show Results
5th July 2026 — Open Shows
VIEW RESULTS
History Timeline
Explore the history of The Collie Association.
VIEW TIMELINEOfficers & Committee
Patron — Mr D Smith
President — Mrs S M Wigglesworth
Chair — Mrs E Kitchen
Secretary — Miss S M Telford
Treasurer — Ms L Gautrey
Committee
Ms T Wilkinson, Mrs J Growcott, Mr D Farthing, Mrs D Farthing,
Mrs D Baker, Mr D Randall and Mrs S Randall